URC Newsletters
Click here to read our URC newsletters

New URC boat shed opening
Union President Brendan O'Dea described the opening of the boat shed as a new beginning… Click to read more
Club Profiles
Click here to read about some of our well known club members

Did you know?
Click here to read stories about Union past and present

URC 150th Jubilee
The Union Rowing Club celebrated its 150th Jubilee in September 2014 - what a great weekend! Click to read more
URC photo gallery
Click here for a glimpse of our crews and our club over the last 150 years

1970s URC Reunion
The 'maiden eights' from 1972 to 1974 and coach Jim Little met for a reunion weekend in November 2012, nearly forty years to the month after the crew first took the water..... Click to read more
Safety at URC
Safety is everyone's responsibility at Union. Click here to read more...

URC Strategic Plan
Click here to read more
URC President's Club
Click here to read more

2013 NZ Masters Championships

21 - 22 September
Lake Ruataniwha

Two cool, cloudy and - most important - still days made for near perfect conditions at Lake Ruataniwha for the 2013 Masters Nationals. Union's men's and women's masters benefitted hugely from Jim Little's expert coaching and his on and off the water training programme. Of the 42 clubs competing, Union featured as one of the most successful.
Medallists are listed below. For full results go to http://www.rowingnz.com/events-results-database/regattas/ and choose Bankstream NZ Masters Champs

Men's Eight


Kirsty Mahoney | Astrid Harris

womens masters A double sculls

Kirsty Mahoney

womens masters B single

Kirsty Mahoney | Astrid Harris | Dorothee Pauli | Deb Hymers-Ross

womens masters C coxless quad sculls

Mike Fowler| Danny Blair | Malcom Burgess| Rod McLennan | Graham Russell | Brent Mirfin | Kevin Entwistle | Richard Gordon + Jason Cowless (cox)

mens masters E coxed eight

Richard Gordon | Kevin Entwistle | Graham Russell | Brent Mirfin

mens masters nov coxless quad sculls

Women's Eight


Kirsty Mahoney

womens masters A single

Kirsty Mahoney | Astrid Harris

womens masters B double sculls

Dorothee Pauli| Astrid Harris | Deb Hymers-Ross | Karen Rickerby | Suzanne Entwisle | Sue Wood | Dorothy Paton | Catherine Kappelle + Peter Gamble (cox)

womens masters C-D coxed eight

Dorothee Pauli | Astrid Harris | Deb Hymers-Ross | Dorothy Paton

womens masters D coxless quad sculls

Mike Fowler | Danny Blair | Malcolm Burgess | Richard Gordon

mens masters E coxless quad sculls

Kirsty Mahoney on the way to winning the women's masters single


Karen Rickerby | Charlotte Cox

womens masters D double sculls

Mike Fowler

mens masters E single

Mike Fowler | Danny Blair

mens masters E double sculls

Men's Quad

Jim Little and Mike Fowler

Pack up

Peter Gamble's presentation recognising 50 years of coxing