URC Newsletters
Click here to read our URC newsletters

New URC boat shed opening
Union President Brendan O'Dea described the opening of the boat shed as a new beginning… Click to read more
Club Profiles
Click here to read about some of our well known club members

Did you know?
Click here to read stories about Union past and present

URC 150th Jubilee
The Union Rowing Club celebrated its 150th Jubilee in September 2014 - what a great weekend! Click to read more
URC photo gallery
Click here for a glimpse of our crews and our club over the last 150 years

1970s URC Reunion
The 'maiden eights' from 1972 to 1974 and coach Jim Little met for a reunion weekend in November 2012, nearly forty years to the month after the crew first took the water..... Click to read more
Safety at URC
Safety is everyone's responsibility at Union. Click here to read more...

URC Strategic Plan
Click here to read more
URC President's Club
Click here to read more

2018 South Island Masters Champs, Picton

2 & 3 June, Picton

There has not been a regatta in Picton Harbour since 1992. For many of the 30 Union rowers it was a trip down memory lane, while for others it was an opportunity to experience rowing on the harbour, racing the ferry, avoiding boat wakes and finding out what all those stories were about.

Picton did not disappoint. The long distance race first thing on Saturday morning practically sank Union's mixed 8.

The club finished equal with Dunstan for the most points achieved at the regatta. Dale and Greg won the trophy for the fastest double and Kirsty won the trophy for the fastest single.

My personal highlight of the regatta was seeing Andrew and Ian getting off the water after their novice doubles race beaming.

Everyone pulled their weight helping people on and off the water, rigging and de-rigging loading and unloading and yet reserved enough energy to dance from 8 to midnight.

Deb Hymers-Ross
Club Captain



Womens C single
Kirsty Mahoney

Womens E single
Dorle Pauli

Womens D double
Dorle Pauli / Kirsty Mahoney

Womens B double
Kirsty Mahoney/Natalie Wilson (Cromwell)

Womens E double
Dorle Pauli / Maude O'Connell (Cromwell)

Womens D quad
Karen Rickerby, Pam Strong-Van Gestel, Lenette Moore, Wendy Lawson

Womens E four
Deb Hymers-Ross, Wendy Lawson, Karen Rickerby, Liz Blair

Mens D double
Dale Maher / Greg McLaughlin

Mens D quad
Dale Maher, Greg McLaughlin, Stuart Wade, Danny Blair

Mens E four
composite with Cure - Stuart Wade, Murray McCartin

Mixed C double
Stuart Wade, Tanja McDonald

Mixed D four
Deb Hymers-Ross, Tanja McDonald, Murray McCartin, Stuart Wade

Mixed E quad
Deb Hymers- Ross, Danny Blair, Dorle Pauli, Dale Maher

Mixed Club eight
Stuart Wade, Murray McCartin, Danny Blair, Austen Rainer, Karen Rickerby, Shelley Washington, Deb Hymers-Ross, Tanja McDonald

Long Distance Race:
Mixed Club eight
Stuart Wade, Murray McCartin, Danny Blair, Austen Rainer, Karen Rickerby, Deb Hymers-Ross, Liz Blair, Tanja McDonald

Dorle Pauli - womens E single

Mixed E quad

Mixed D four

Mens E double